cousins (a draft)

How far removed
am I from you,
Girl?
With your short shorts
and men’s undershirt
You’re sitting in the front seat
of your boyfriend’s car
Little left to the imagination
so I try not to look
but do.

How far removed
am I from you,
Girl?
With my advanced degree
and trendy haircut
I’m in the driver’s seat
This nowhere smalltown
but a pit stop on my way
to big places that I can only imagine.

How far removed
am I from you,
Girl?
You talk through your nose
Chain smoke while pregnant
Wait tables for a living
Room with your boyfriend
I sweat grammatical correctness
Avoid showing cleavage
Don’t watch sitcoms

How close we come in our everyday passings
What if we were to sit down and be real with each other?
What would we learn?
What things are different?
What things are the same?

 

(c. HCS April 1, 2009)

~ by hannahcsykes on April 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “cousins (a draft)”

  1. I like this a lot.

  2. This is beautiful. It’s refreshing to find poetry that is clear without being simplistic and sophisticated without trying hard. Keep up the good work.

  3. Now here’s a chunk of reality beautifully written. Remind me to tell you sometime about hangin’ with my homies at D.C.I. Biologicals.

Leave a Reply

 
