Winter Sun (a draft)

He is wearing the dense clouds like a shroud
veiled in grey, snow bearers.

Maybe a strong gust of wind will come
and take away these few lingering leaves
so we can all surrender to the Winter
as you have, Sun.

* ** *

Why don’t I write about you?
You’re an echo that lingers above my head:
Sounds of words
banjo strings
feet crunching on gravel.
And yet you remain silent in most settings

~ by hannahcsykes on December 9, 2008.

One Response to “Winter Sun (a draft)”

  1. “You’re an echo that lingers above my head”

    Last night, I dreamed of her. You were braiding my hair, long and black, as it was in years gone by, and she called. The two of you were talking of a purse – white, I think. Your voice was quiet, intimate, soothing in tone. This enriching of my dreams of you and the one who is an echo that lingers above your head is a sweet blessing to me. I am delighted.

Leave a Reply

 
