Running Girls

       1.
I saw her the other morning
running through the neighbor’s yard
identity/form cloaked by oversized shirt and pants.
She ducked into bushes
then was out again
as soon as heads were turned.

When the official report came through,
turns out she is a child
habitual runaway
victim of abuse.
She was hiding in an abandoned house,
a house I can see from my bedroom window.

       2.
I saw her running the other afternoon
and a car was following her.
She had confident strides
as she ran from her house to a vacant yard.
She leaned on her knees to catch her breath
and the car caught up with her.

He leaned out of the car window
beckong, pleading.
she waved her arms wildly at him
then turned and, with resolve,
walked down the sidewalk back to her house.
Moments later, he parked in her driveway
and she seemed to be ready to hear him out.

       3.
I saw her running
and running
and running.
From this belief
this idea
these voices who know what is best.
I saw that she couldn’t be satisfied.

I saw her with a distant look on her face.
She seems to be searching for a country, a new place.
And still she runs,
her spirit being lived and breathed
and making peace with the present.

~ by hannahcsykes on September 12, 2008.

2 Responses to “Running Girls”

  1. Powerful. This will stay with me for a bit.

  2. Wow. Just… I want to say “beautiful”, or “haunting”, or something…but I’m just sitting here reading this over and over.

Leave a Reply

 
