a kind of apology

I’m sorry to have put you through this
and now you’re out there in front
for all to see –
a testament –
and what if they stare?

You’re such an integral part of my memories
of my perceptions of life
of how I Experience

I think of all the pleasure we’ve known
the times you’ve kept me safe
and helped my glasses stay on my face
and, oh dear nose, look what I’ve done to you!

chapped beyond recognition
raw and red
and each time I cover you in lotion,
I rub it off as I try to conquer the fountain of phlegm.

I confess, this morning, I thought about other noses.
What if I could trade you in for a softer, younger one?
What if I could hide you away like a dirty little secret?

But we both know that will never happen.
Too loyal.
Too realistic.
And like every other cold,
we’ll get through this one together. I promise.

~ by hannahcsykes on August 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
