I’ll be okay in October

When the air is decidedly cooler
and the mums are in bloom

When weeks have passed and it’s too late
to turn back
when the time we’ve spent
is far away enough
that I can’t clearly replay every moment in my mind
the lines between real and imagined will blur
when your touch isn’t so fresh

When the seasons have changed
and the calendar agrees
when some other Love words
disturb my quiet mind

Yes, I’ll be okay in October
at least that’s what I’ll tell myself today.
And it’s not that I would choose to go back to previous seasons
and not know this
and not know you
When hints of you aren’t everywhere
and I’ve forgotten how to watch for signs
when the circles aren’t spinning
Maybe that will happen in October
but not any sooner

~ by hannahcsykes on August 11, 2008.

2 Responses to “I’ll be okay in October”

  1. I really like this poem – great concept and execution.

  2. there is so much strength potrayed through those lines… it gives hope for a tomorrow for those lurking in between…truly amaizng 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
