myth and dream

I saw her at the well this morning.
She looked pretty much the same,
but there was a light in her eyes
a sort of wildness.

“It’s good to see you again,” I said to her,
“I see smoke from your fire sometimes when
I go with the children to the top of the hill.”

She smiled and looked up at the sun.

“So when are you coming back to camp?” I asked.

“Well,” she looked at me and then looked over her shoulder,
to the small hill that separated our camp from her tent,
“I’m sort of set up where I am. I’ve got my tent and my things and,”
She looked at me with an expression of question.

“Your space is right where you left it. I know you can’t stay out there
by yourself forever,” I said smiling, “You don’t know what is out there.
You can’t live by yourself. You can’t live on the fray forever.”

she looked down at the dirt around her feet. Then, back over her shoulder
to the hill.

“I’d better get back,” I said, “I have so many people waiting for me, so many
obligations. You know how it is.”

She smiled, “You should come over at dusk sometime, and watch the stars
come out. It’s not like anything you can see in the camp. And it’s so quiet.”

I laughed, “You know I can’t do that. I wish I could be like you,
but some of us have responsibilities.”

She gave me a half-smile and turned to walk up the hill.

~ by hannahcsykes on June 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
