a kind of sympathy

Each time other women lamented
a bad haircut,
she would smile and say
“The good thing about hair is that it grows back.”

Repeatedly, she sat in the stylist’s chair
repeatedly, she tried adventuresome cuts
repeatedly, she got up from the chair
looking fabulous.

“You’ve got great hair.”
“You can do anything with it.”
“Whatever style you wear, works for you.”

And so with this brazen confidence,
she once again went under the scissors.
“I think we’ll thin out some of your thickness
and shorten it for the hot weather,” the stylist said.

“Sure,” she replied with an air of defiance.

Snip, snip, snip, snip.
Thirty minutes passed.
The dryer was employed and the gel was applied.

And she got home

And really looked in the mirror.

“Oh my. It has happened to me. I now know.
I understand the regret, the desire to go back in time,
pre-cut and speak for something different.”

She stared longer at her helmet hair. She looked like
David Bowie as Ziggy Stardust. Oh my.

With resolve, she researched hair care products of which
she knows nothing. With resolve, she decided she
could make something of her hair. With resolve, she smiled and said,
“The good thing is…it will grow back.”

~ by hannahcsykes on June 13, 2008.

One Response to “a kind of sympathy”

  1. Brilliant. That’s why I avoid haircuts. Had it short all my childhood and I want it long for all my adult life.

Leave a Reply

 
