Prufrock footnotes

I saw Joseph Campbell at the grocery store
He was examining mangos in the produce section.
He held each one up to the light as though
he could see right through.

“That’s the myth of me,” I said, interrupting his study.
He turned and held the fruit up to my eyes.

“The ripening and the splitting, Joe. That’s me.
That is about me.”

“As long as a myth is still alive. As long
as someone is still talking about
the mysteries. As long as we are still
looking at a piece of fruit
as a metaphor,” he said in reply.

Walking towards the exit,
I saw Whitman and Ginsberg making fun
of magazine covers.

 

Later that evening,
as I took my walk about the neighborhood,
I saw the good old over-60s
gathered around their gas grill
holding longneck brown bottles
wearing golf shirts and khaki shorts and ball caps
having self-important conversations in their big-talk accents

Their wives were on the screened porch
perched on wicker chairs
holding merlot-filled wine glasses
wearing lowcut dresses and fake blonde hair
having self-important conversations in their big-talk accents

 

Do we dare disturb the universe?
What is it that makes a ripened mango fall from the tree?
What is that trigger to the awakening?

 

~ by hannahcsykes on June 8, 2008.

One Response to “Prufrock footnotes”

  1. love love love this poem!!!

Leave a Reply

 
