“I wanna hear you blow that thing”

A few weeks ago, I was invited to play flute in the orchestral ensemble for the TGRC‘s production of Children of Eden.
I finally got around to practicing today; the show opens in a few weeks. It’s not a big deal and this is not about me beating myself up over practice time (did enough of that in high school).
Rather, this is about how great it is to be making music again. People who don’t understand make fun of me when I say this, but it is a really physical act. My lips and cheeks were a little sore. There are some high, high notes and it takes some concentration to get there. If you’ve never played an instrument like the flute, just imagine blowing over the top of a coke bottle to get a decent sound. And do that for several minutes. 
But it’s fun. And it is nice to be playing again.

~ by hannahcsykes on May 29, 2008.

One Response to ““I wanna hear you blow that thing””

  1. woo! i am glad to hear you are playing again!! that is awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
