Home Going

Welcome Home.
It is so good to see you again.

Everything is just as you left it.
Your chair is in the same place,
in front of the window,
so you can watch the world go by.

Your bed is made and ready for your rest.
Your clothes are hanging in your closet.
Your toothbrush is in the stand.
Everything is just as you left it.

It is so good to see you again.

Please promise you won’t go off again.
It was really hard to explain.
You can’t imagine the embarrassment.
The whispering.
The looks.

You can’t leave again.
There is just too much history here.
Too much of you that is here.
Who are you when you’re not here?

It breaks my heart.
Promise you won’t do that to me again.
You’re nothing without me.

~ by hannahcsykes on May 12, 2008.

One Response to “Home Going”

  1. “Who are you when you’re not here?” My mind explodes, my heart races, my breath is taken away. This is one of the most profound questions I have ever known to be asked. My emotions whirl. My tears fall.

Leave a Reply

 
