escitalopram oxalate (working title)

I dreaded taking that ibuprofen today
The headache was awful though
I was afraid that if I dulled the pain, lessened the swelling
that I would also calm the pleasure-mania pulsing through my cells.

Yesterday I was listening to Chick on vinyl.
Man.
I was aware of every single nuance, every single note.
I saw colors. I saw dream sequences.

I was in love and I was laughing
I dreaded coming down from that high, so muchly.
Oh, to get that fix again.
I don’t want to be the dragon-lady of winter
the one you’ve all come to put up with.

I want to find a new hook,
a new pattern to follow
I want that which he spoke of
       that voice
just days ago it was a whisper
but it is getting louder
****************

Suddenly I realize
That if I stepped out of my body I would break
Into blossom

          James Wright
            from “A Blessing

~ by hannahcsykes on April 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
