21st Century Lamentations

I had to drink tear soup this morning.
And I don’t tell you that
because I want your pity.
I just want you to understand.
Some days are harder than others.

I pulled out her photograph.
She was so beautiful, even to the end.

The people in my neighborhood are home
all day.
I don’t understand how we can all have nowhere to go.
all day
every day
What about school?
or work?
or someone else’s place?
How did I end up in a place like this?

There is a flowering tree in our front yard.
My son sees the white, full blossoms and says
“snow!”
every time.
Today it is windy and cloudy.
The blossoms are blowing off the tree and I say,
“snow!”
and drink another cup of soup.

~ by hannahcsykes on April 4, 2008.

One Response to “21st Century Lamentations”

  1. Wonderful, Hannah. Deep end of everything.

Leave a Reply

 
