to those who have been given much or the return of the low impact party

we’ve got a birthday party weekend planned. 2 parties in 2 days. no disposable products will be used.

The children at the “friends” party will drink out of reusable cups decorated with their names and fun squiggles. Everyone will use cloth napkins.

This low impact stuff always gets me kind of excited. It’s hard not to get on a green high horse about all the “good I’m doing” (that’s sarcasm for those of you keeping score).  But then as I was taking my son to preschool this morning, I noticed observed was bowled over by the trash spilling out of our neighbor’s trash can. Paper plates, paper cups, beer cans, etc.

Now granted, I do not live the same kind of lifestyle as my neighbors in many ways. But as I drove by, I said to myself, “They are completely cancelling out any recycling I do with all their trash.” Where does personal responsibility end and confrontation for change become necessary? These neighbors don’t care though. And so I care doubly.

And that brings me to my quandry on this Thursday morning. We talked about this last night at Bible study. Jesus said that to those who have been given much, much will be demanded. While we talked about this in terms of grace, mercy and love towards others, I guess I could take it out of context and apply it to other things.

So I’ll keep recycling and having low/no impact parties. I’ll tote my canvas sacks to the grocery store. Etc. And my neighbors will do what they do. I’m not better than anyone else but I have been given the opportunity to have knowledge and so I’d better use it. Right?

~ by hannahcsykes on April 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “to those who have been given much or the return of the low impact party”

  1. i hear ya hon. it is very frustrating to drive by neighbors who have overflowing garbage cans and then some, and think what in the world?? it’s also disheartening. unfortunately i find myself making the comparison of us, (two people), in a week can really only have 2 bags of garbage and tons of recycling, and really do folks have overflowing cans?? it does boggle my mind. you are an inspiration to me tho as i’ve followed your example in using canvas bags for my groceries and shopping and picking up cloth napkins and non-disposable utensils. i think your example is powerful beyond words :).

  2. What? They make dishes and utensils that are glass and not plastic disposable? Where is this confoundation!?!

    J/K. You really inspire me. We don’t use disposable dishes or cups or napkins (uh. we do use paper towels…) and when we moved into the neighborhood I asked Rumpke if they had recycling (they said no) but tell me why I see neighbors with red bins for recyclables?

    I know I need to do more. What’s crazy is that in a pamphlet about being less germ y, it said to use paper towels and not hand towels, but then to be more green, not to use paper towels.

    Isn’t there an in between? Like use hand towels, but throw them in the wash at the end of the day?

    Geesh! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
