Just tryin’ to spread a little Love

Her legs were covered in pox…or bug bites and she was visibly struggling with the door of the Dollar General store.

My son and I were looking at the silly weird inflatated ghost/haunted snow globe thing outside of the DG. When I realized the girl was trying to get her buggy out of the door single-handedly, my son and I went over to hold the door for her. Her hair was down in her eyes so I was not prepared for the 12ish year old girl who looked up at me when she realized she no longer had to hold the door for herself.

The people in the store were just standing there looking at her. Since when do people not deserve some help just to get out the door? Since when is it okay to just stand mouths agape at your fellow human beings in need?

We didn’t give her money or shelter or a meal. But showing Love isn’t always in doing huge things like that. And I’m not tooting my own horn here. Not I, but Christ. They will know we are Christians by our Love. It’s that easy and trips up so many of us everyday.

~ by hannahcsykes on October 8, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
