Seasons Change

It’s that time of year again.

No, not that time of year. And not that time either.

You know, you go in a store and the fall decorations are out. Wreaths with fall leaves, scarecrows, pumpkins, and wonderful smelling candles.

I’m from a part of the world where fall is glorious. The leaves really do turn those reds and golds; there really is a different smell in the air and a chill in the air. I live in a part of the world where the closest I get to fall is to smell a candle. Let’s face it; I’m almost always homesick for the mountains but in the fall, it gets serious.

So enough of that. What’s on my mind is this annual quest that comes as the summer turns to fall. About this time of year, I start humming the great jazz standard “Autumn Leaves”. And for the past two years, I’ve logged onto Rhapsody to find the perfect version. Tonight I found two goodies: Louis Prima and Keely Smith’s version and an awesome Vince Guaraldi version (if you like the Peanuts music, you’ll like this).

They are two very different versions. The Prima/Smith version swings like a crisp October afternoon. The Guaraldi version is somewhat pensive, totally mellow and classy like an autumn evening under a harvest moon (ah yeah).

If you can recommend others, please do so. And check out these two. I’m on my third listen in ten minutes.

~ by hannahcsykes on August 31, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
