Playin’ around or Rules of the Game

(my blogging experience seems to be as spastic as the rest of my life. oh well)

Having a toddler has put me into the realm of playgroups. And trust me, this is a world unto itself. There are some gals who, like, live for a playgroup. Planning playdates is all they talk about. Parks, slides and swings work their way into every conversation.

It’s weird.

I understand that the goals are to encourage socialization for the children and to get moms out of the house and supporting one another. But here comes the vent: I have a 2 year old son. If we are playing, we are playing.

I’m not standing around swapping recipes or queasiness stories. I am running with, catching, toting my son. And when it’s time to go, it’s time to go.

So this is not the answer. Oh heavens, I think playgroups are fine. But I know people who are using this as their only method of socialization. Not good enough.

Who said that you had to give up intellectualism when you became a parent? And I don’t mean talking just to talk, or “adult conversation”. I mean really talking. Debating literature or science or art. Not just a restaurant review or gossip. I mean really existing.

~ by hannahcsykes on July 18, 2007.

2 Responses to “Playin’ around or Rules of the Game”

  1. Excellent rant! Well said.

  2. You try going to a Play Group in rural Tasmania!!!

Leave a Reply

 
