Complacent vs. Content

How do you discern between the two? At what point do you just check out and try to get by? I hope never. At what point do you realize you’re no longer being challenged by your current situation (and I mean challenged in a positive way)?

I know some people who are picking up and moving to another state because they are seeking more challenge. God has called them to seek more challenging circumstances. He has blessed them with tremendous talents and gifts, and they’re going to use them. I also know people who are smart and talented but have surrendered to circumstance. They get bogged down and frustrated…and into trouble.

So where do you draw the line? How do you find contentment without being complacent? How do you keep it fresh? Sometimes it seems like my life resembles that goo in the bottom of my fridge; I’d like it to be a colorful display at a summer farmer’s market.

How do you get there? Or is this just me?

~ by hannahcsykes on June 14, 2007.

One Response to “Complacent vs. Content”

  1. I don’t have crisp, quick answers, but just thought this posting deserved a comment.

    And no, it’s not just you.

Leave a Reply

 
