“April is the Cruelest Month”

Well, actually, May is…sort of.

It’s the end of another semester (if you’re fearing a sentimental rumination on teaching, rest assured). Oh yes, it’s great to see those students with whom you’ve worked for a semester or two come through the system. People you knew as freshman are graduating and going on to a university (it is just community college, remember).

But there’s another side to the coin. There are those students who are geniunely nice people but geniunely poor students. No matter how I do the math, they just won’t pass. I’ve enjoyed working with them, talking with them, being part of their worlds for a few months. Somehow they just didn’t make the grade.

I guess it could be an ethical issue. I know teachers who pass students because they are good kids or working moms, etc. But is that fair to the student or teacher? Or how about the other teachers these students will encounter? I’ve been handed the responsibility of teaching students who “niced” themselves through the freshman comp course; when they get in my intro to lit class, however, they can’t write their way out of a paperbag.\

So it’s a bittersweet time of year (here comes the edge sentimental). I wish my successful students well in future academic endeavors and my nice students well in life. I always hope I’ve at least equipped them for one of those two.

~ by hannahcsykes on May 7, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
