The Thing With Feathers

I know scripture teaches that the greatest of “these” is love but sometimes it feels like the more difficult of the three is hope. You think, pray, meditate, keep quiet about things but what is really driving your ambition is hope.

Hope for a new perspective. Hope for a positive answer or a negative one in some cases. Hope for a new job. Hope for a way out.

So it sort of makes sense that Dickinson would peg hope as “the thing with feathers”. Not because hope is a butterfly lighting on my window as I awake to sunshine in white percale sheets. Hope is difficult to hold onto. It can fly away if we lose sight of God. Our Enemy is in the corner waiting to catch us off guard – to discourage us so that we will return to see hope flying out the window.

So what do we do to hold on to hope? I won’t even pretend to know. Most people don’t want a cliched answer. I know I don’t. I do know that my knuckles are white and I’m beating back my Foe.

~ by hannahcsykes on May 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
