Low-Impact Woman

Okay, I’m borrowing from the guy in NYC who, along with his wife and toddler daughter, are conducting the No Impact year-long experiment. I learned about him via the NY Times (I made my composition class read the article for discussion too) and I am interested.

But I can’t go that far. So I’m going for low impact.

  • I’m trying really hard not to buy products whose packaging can’t be recycled.
  • We don’t use disposable plates, cups or napkins at our house.
  • I take canvas bags to the grocery store instead of wrestling with those plastic ones.

It’s a slow start. Old habits die hard. But I think making less of a mess and leaving this world cleaner than when I got here is definitely worth it.

~ by hannahcsykes on April 27, 2007.

One Response to “Low-Impact Woman”

  1. You go girl!! i have my canvas bags in my car too for my groceries. i’m really working hard to remember them when i go in. it’s a 50/50 sometimes. i would love to read that article you mentioned :).

Leave a Reply

 
